Wednesday, March 21, 2018

Close to Me ~ Amanda Reynolds (earc) review [@amandareynoldsj @QuercusBooks @Wildfirebks]

Close to Me
July 17, 2017
384 pages
add to Goodreads/buy from Book Depository/or Amazon

Close To Me is a gripping debut psychological drama that will appeal to fans of Liane Moriarty's bestselling The Husband's Secret, Clare Mackintosh's I Let You Go, and Linda Green's While My Eyes Were Closed.

She can't remember the last year. Her husband wants to keep it that way.

When Jo Harding falls down the stairs at home, she wakes up in hospital with partial amnesia-she's lost a whole year of memories. A lot can happen in a year. Was Jo having an affair? Lying to her family? Starting a new life?

She can't remember what she did-or what happened the night she fell. But she's beginning to realise she might not be as good a wife and mother as she thought.

Close to Me reminds you just how much you, as a reader, rely on the narrator. Whether or not you may realize it. I loved that author Amanda Reynolds kept readers just as in the dark - and sometimes even more so - as Jo.

The story is told alternating between the year that Jo has now forgotten and her life after her fall, trying to discover what all she has forgotten, how her family came to be so very different . . . and why she feels so unsettled around the husband she can only ever remember loving and trusting.

While it could be frustrating to be just on the cusp of discovering something, some informative truth or tidbit, only to have the timeline shift or Jo never quite mention it, it did definitely make for a better read. We were never ahead of either  past or present Jo when it came to any of the 'why's or the bigger pieces of the puzzle. Sometimes you knew what would happen but not why or when or, really, even if.

The way this story is told really keeps you just as engrossed in both of the timelines and anxious to find out what happens (or happened). At times, it's hard to even know if you like Jo and whether she -and what she did over that forgotten year - was in the right or the wrong.It was startling to realize just how much I was relying on Jo's interpretation of events, her memories, her impression of people and/or relationships to inform my understanding of things. I loved that it was not a third person narration; it left for a lot more questions and uncertainties. Sure Jo thought X was true or this person felt this way, but was it true?

There were a few more unanswered questions at the end of the novel than I would have liked. Things didn't need to be all tied up with a neat little bow or anything, but I was not sure enough about where or how certain characters were to even guess about their future. I will read more from this author, but I hope future books allow for more development of the characters' relationships.

digital review copy received from publisher, via NetGalley

Waiting On Wednesday [@demetrabrodsky @torteen]

Waiting On Wednesday is hosted by Breaking the Spine

My pick for this week:

DIVE SMACK by Demetra Brodsky
Theo Mackey only remembers one thing for certain about the fire that destroyed his home: he lit the match.

Sure, it was an accident. But the blaze killed his mom and set his dad on a path to self-destruction. Everything else about that fateful night is full of gaping holes in Theo’s mind, for good reason. Maybe it’s better that way. As captain of the Ellis Hollow Diving Team, with straight A's and solid friends, he's only one semester away from securing a scholarship, and leaving his past behind.

But when a family history project gets assigned at school, new memories come rushing to the surface, memories that make him question what he really knows about his family, the night of the fire, and if he can trust anyone—including himself.

published June 19th by Tor Teen

add to your Goodreads shelf // pre-order from Book Depo // or Amazon


To start with: that title has me curious enough that I would probably want to read it even if the book's description was not also really making me want to read this.

I tend to really enjoy novels where the characters are experiencing some sort of memory problems, especially when those missing (or compromised or repressed) memories are of some sort of tragic event that may or may not be the character's fault.  It can make for a great read when you don't know whether or not to trust the character (and, maybe, neither do they).

I'm curious what Theo's dad's path to self destruction entails and intrigued by the fact that its' set as Theo's about to graduate, leave town.

That's my pick for this week, what's yours? Tell me in the comments and/or link me to your own post!

Tuesday, March 20, 2018

Top Ten Tuesday: Spring TBR

This week's Ten:
10 Books on my Spring TBR List

The Complication (The Program #6) by Suzanne Young
Goodreads/Book Depo/Amazon

Suitors and Sabotage by Cindy Anstey
Goodreads/Book Depo/Amazon

Undead Girl Gang by Lily Anderson
Goodreads/Book Depo/Amazon

Bring Me Back by B.A. Paris
Goodreads/Book Depo/Amazon

LIFEL1K3 by Jay Kristoff
Goodreads/Book Depo/Amazon

On the Come Up by Angie Thomas
Goodreads/Book Depo/Amazo

Paper Ghosts by Julia Heaberlin

Onyx and Ivory by Mindee Arnett

Girl Made of Stars by Ashley Herring Blake

The Diminished (#1) by Kaitlyn Sage Patterson

Please leave a comment and let me know what books are your top Spring TBR picks -maybe I'll find some I don't know, yet, that I want to read!

Friday, March 9, 2018

Book Trailer Friday [@tomi_adeyemi @fiercereads]

The trailer this week is for Tomi Adeyemi's Children of Blood and Bone (Legacy of Orisha #1) because it is a book I very much want to read. It came out this past Tuesday, the 6th and here is the trailer:

about Children of Blood and Bone:

Tomi Adeyemi conjures a stunning world of dark magic and danger in her West African-inspired fantasy debut, perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo and Sabaa Tahir.

Zélie Adebola remembers when the soil of Orïsha hummed with magic. Burners ignited flames, Tiders beckoned waves, and Zelie’s Reaper mother summoned forth souls.

But everything changed the night magic disappeared. Under the orders of a ruthless king, maji were targeted and killed, leaving Zélie without a mother and her people without hope.

Now, Zélie has one chance to bring back magic and strike against the monarchy. With the help of a rogue princess, Zélie must outwit and outrun the crown prince, who is hell-bent on eradicating magic for good.

Danger lurks in Orïsha, where snow leoponaires prowl and vengeful spirits wait in the waters. Yet the greatest danger may be Zélie herself as she struggles to control her powers—and her growing feelings for the enemy.

March 06, 2018 // Henry Holt Books for Young Readers // 525 pages // Goodreads // Book Depository // Amazon
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...